BC Liberals take Kootenay-East by 27 per cent

Tom Shypitka takes 9114 votes, 4335 more than Randal Macnair

British Columbians support of Christy Clark’s BC Liberals secured them with a minority government win over the BC NDP and BC Green Party on May 9.

The Liberals won 43 seats, the NDP won 41 and the Greens won 3.

This is the first minority win in the province since 1952.

Although three seats is minimal, Andrew Weaver will no doubt have a voice in the provincial capital.

“Tonight, we won the popular vote, and we have also won the most seats,” Ms. Clark told supporters at a BC Liberal Party gathering in Vancouver. “It is my intention to continue to lead British Columbia.”

On a provincial scale, this means that the Liberals will now be faced with following through with several large promises: a balanced budget and strong GDP growth, reduced MSP rates for some citizens, eventually phasing out health-care premiums all together. As well, the Liberals are in support of the expansion of the Site C Dam, while the two other parties are opposed to it.

In Columbia River-Revelstoke, Doug Clovechok delivered a BC Liberal victory, dominating the NDP who have reigned for the past 12 years.

In the Kootenay-East region, what was thought to be a tight battle between the NDP and Liberals resulted in a landslide victory for the reds.

Out of 44,092 eligible voters, 16,092 votes were reported after 75 polling stations counted ballets.

BC Liberal candidate, Tom Shypitka took 57 per cent of the vote share with 9114. BC NDP candidate Randal Macnair only reached half of that, taking a 30 per cent vote share with 4779 votes. Yvonne Prest, although not elected, did better than any Green Party candidate in the area to date, taking 11 per cent of the vote share with 1814 votes. BC Libertarians candidate, Keith Komar took two per cent of the total vote, with 385 votes.

On Tuesday, May 9, the polls closed at 9 p.m. MDT. By 10 p.m., CBC was predicting a landslide victory for the BC Liberals in Kootenay East.

Tom Shypitka was surrounded by supporters in Cranbrook when he took position as the new MLA.

“It comes to this, and I couldn’t be happier,” he said to everyone present. “The people in Kootenay-East have made a decision, and they have decided with a party of free enterprise.

“I’m a team player,” he added. “And I couldn’t be prouder to be a part of this Christy Clark team.”

Randal Macnair was also present in Cranbrook, eagerly awaiting results. Although he is disappointed, he said he was pleased and humbled at the result.

“We knew it was an uphill battle (from the) start… It’s been a liberal stronghold for 16 years. We knew breaking through that would be difficult, and it was just insurmountable,” said Macnair.

After he thanked supporters and presented a few individuals with flowers, Shypitka spoke again about how he was feeling, and acknowledged that he was overwhelmed and excited.

Bill Bennett, the longest serving MLA in Kootenay-East, was happy to pass on the torch to Shypitka.

“He’s going to make a real good MLA,” he said. “I think people will be quite happy with him.”

Just Posted

Skid Steer stolen from Sparwood Transfer Station

Elk Valley RCMP are seeking the public’s assistance with a theft that… Continue reading

Golf pro has big plans for Sparwood Golf Course

Golf pro looks to a promising future for golf in Sparwood

Ghostriders show grit and tenacity

Hard work and heartbreak; a reoccurring theme in Fernie’s past two hockey… Continue reading

Fernie Swim team aims for Nationals

Aidan Chudleigh has high hopes for his swim team this year, and… Continue reading

Jaffray Area OCP goes to public hearing

The public hearing will be held November 22nd at 7:00 PM at the Jaffray Community Hall.

VIDEO: Rare comic showing Superman’s 1st appearance to be auctioned

The 1938 comic features Superman hoisting a car over his head

Sparwood florist to compete nationally

The Maple Leaf Cup; where art and flower design meet under one… Continue reading

‘An officer and a gentleman’: Const. John Davidson is laid to rest

Thousands attend memorial service for slain Abbotsford Police officer

VIDEO: Coquihalla closed both directions near Merritt

Detours are available via Hwy. 8 and Hwy. 1

VIDEO: The Last Jedi is going to be the longest ‘Star Wars’ movie yet

Newest movie in the franchise will beat Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones

REPLAY: B.C. this week in video

In case you missed it, here’s a look at replay-worthy highlights from across the province this week.

PHOTOS: Procession and funeral for Const. John Davidson

Thousands attended celebration of life for Abbotsford police officer

B.C. Liberal leadership candidates debate different paths for party

Third debate held Sunday, Nov. 19 at Nanaimo’s Vancouver Island Conference Centre

Apology to Canadians persecuted for being gay coming Nov. 28: Trudeau

Thousands were fired from the military, RCMP and public service because of their sexual orientation

Most Read