Banner Project celebrates 10 years

The launch of the tenth annual Banner Project has arrived and it’s all happening Thursday night at The Arts Station.

Spring has sprung and the banners are hung! The launch of the tenth annual Banner Project has arrived and it’s all happeningThursday night at The Arts Station.

From painting, quilting, photography, pottery and glass, local artists entered dozens of different pieces into this year’s contest. It was a tough decision for the team of adjudicators, but they have managed to narrow it down to 34 works of art.

The completed banners will be displayed at The Arts Station tonight starting at 7 p.m., before being hung along Victoria Avenue in downtown Fernie. Anyone can choose to sponsor a banner for $100. After being on display for one year on Victoria Avenue, the banners will spend another year lining the highway, before becoming the permanent property of their sponsors. Although the Banner Project is possible thanks to the City of Fernie and the Fernie Arts Council, sponsorship from the community is what makes it sustainable.

The Banner Project highlights the diversity in the Elk Valley’s many artists. Come out to The Arts Station tonight to celebrate the big reveal, and don’t forget to act quickly if you spot a banner you would like to sponsor.

Here are the chosen artists that made the cut for 2013:

Florence Baturin – Blooming

Summer Breeze – Ode to Ullr

Pamm Ciupa – Earnng the Turns

Alicia Clark – A Top A Totem

Marla DeBoon – Wisdom Keeper

Graham Fowler – Red Splash

Alison Gagne – Blue Mountain Morning

Dryden Gris – Birches

Tara Higgins – Give Me Shelter

Kerri Holmes – Vessel

Lisa Holst – Lost Yet

Justin Hula – Moon Glow

Slavka Kolesar – Jack Rabbit

Marie Claude Lemire – Blush

Linda Livsey – Red Onion

Melanie Macvoy – Mountain Snag

Patrick Markle – South Country

Helen McAllister – What Lies Between

Mary Menduk – Loon Lake Waterhole

Donna Miller – Canadian Prairie

Pat Moore – Sunny Day Feelings

Angela Morgan – A Heroine of His Liking

Laura Nelson – Prelude to Power

Dave O’Haire – Northern Flicker Eh!

Clyde Platt – Swimming in Her Dreams

MaKenzy Pratt – Trees in Winter

Stephanie Rogers – Four Season Pines

Katherine Russell – Lamp Posts

Brina Schenk – Koi City

Donna Sheppard – Fallen Trees

Karen Sims – Reflecting the Connection

Heidi Stevens – Friendly Snowman

Leanne Stothert – Running to the Water

Ilona Webster – Summer Magic


Just Posted

Eight U.S. senators write to John Horgan over pollution from Elk Valley mines

The dispute stems from Teck Resources’ coal mines

People throwing food at a bear in Fernie alarms conservation groups

Wildlife conservation groups in the Elk Valley are encouraging individuals to be… Continue reading

Sushi, sake and silk kimono

“The Kimono of Ichimaru” opening night at Fernie Museum attracts sellout crowd

Mexico-bound Tour Divide riders complete first day, pass through Fernie

Divide riders looking strong as they finish first leg of 4160 km race

Convicted B.C. child abductor Randall Hopley back in custody, 6 months since release

Correctional Services Canada could not provide further details due to privacy concerns

PHOTOS: Elusive ‘ghost whale’ surfaces near Campbell River

Ecotourism operator captures images of the rare white orca

Elk Valley Bulls RFC reclaim Kootenay Cup

Elk Valley beats Cranbrook 7-5 to win Kootenay Cup; team off to provincials in September

Victoria mom describes finding son ‘gone’ on first day of coroners inquest into overdose death

Resulting recommendations could change handling of youth records amidst the overdose crisis

Dash-cam video in trial of accused cop killer shows man with a gun

Footage is shown at trial of Oscar Arfmann, charged with killing Const. John Davidson of Abbotsford

Suicide confirmed in case of B.C. father who’d been missing for months

2018 disappearance sparked massive search for Ben Kilmer

Threats charge against Surrey’s Jaspal Atwal stayed

Atwal, 64, was at centre of controversy in 2018 over his attendance at prime minister’s reception in India

Anti-vaxxer Robert F. Kennedy Jr. to speak in Surrey

He’s keynote speaker at Surrey Environment and Business Awards luncheon by Surrey Board of Trade Sept. 17

Otters devour 150 trout at Kootenay hatchery

The hatchery has lost close to 150 fish in the past several months

B.C. church’s Pride flag defaced for second time in 12 days

Delta’s Ladner United Church says it will continue to fly the flag for Pride month

Most Read