McKerracher re-elected Hospital district chair

The Kootenay East Regional Hospital District Board has elected its Chair and Vice Chair

  • Feb. 20, 2017 8:00 p.m.

Elkford Mayor Dean McKerracher has been elected chair for a third term. “I am grateful for the opportunity to fulfill the role of chair and thank my fellow directors for their continued confidence in me,” says McKerracher. “As I look ahead to 2017, I am eager to continue to build on our strong working relationship with Interior Health; to celebrate the completion of some of the key projects that are underway; and, work cooperatively to ensure our residents have access to the equipment and acute health care facilities they need.”

Regional District of Central Kootenay Electoral Area C Director Larry Binks has been elected as acting chair. “My experience in precare and acute care gives me an understanding of the needs of the region. I believe this, combined with my nine years as member of the Hospital District Board and a previous term as Acting Chair, will be assets in my role as 2017 Acting Chair,” says Binks. “I look forward to working with Chair McKerracher and the entire Board and appreciate the opportunity to serve.”

The Kootenay East Regional Hospital District provides up to 40 per cent capital funding for acute care facilities in the region for equipment and facility construction and renovation.

The Hospital District extends beyond the boundaries of the RDEK to include the Towns of Golden and Creston, and the portions of the Regional Districts of Central Kootenay and Columbia Shuswap surrounding those municipalities.