Transrockies route changes

Just 10 days before the TransRockies starts, organisers have had to make changes to the route due to damaged trails.

  • Jul. 17, 2013 7:00 p.m.
The TransRockies kicks off on July 27.

The TransRockies kicks off on July 27.

Just 10 days before the TransRockies starts, organisers have had to make changes to the route due to trails being damaged by recent flooding.

The changes include the Fernie stages.

Below is a summary of the revised route.


Stages 1-3, July 27, 28 and 29 – Fernie

The trails in Fernie were mostly unaffected by the flooding, but some changes were still made to make sure the riders have the best ride possible.


1) Stage 1: Fernie to Fernie – A traditional downtown start and finish without the traditional time trial. This year things will kick off with a mass start and riders will be sent off to ride a 33km route with 1,600 metres of elevation gain. Some of the trails include Upper Uprooted, Hyperventilation, Hyperextension, Roots Extention, Eric’s Trail, Splitting Bears, Ecoterrorist and Lower Southern Comfort.


2) Stage 2: Day two will begin with another downtown start and riders will tackle the Porky Blue Loop and cover 44.5km and 1,700 metres of elevation gain on the Porky Blue and the Coal Discovery Trails.


3) Stage 3: Day three will see riders move up to Fernie Alpine Resort for the start and finish. The route will travel 30.5km with 1,600 metres of elevation gain. Trails include: Cedar Trail, Verboten, Lizard Lake Trail, Project Nine, Island Lake Road, Motorhead, Hedonism, Gorby Road, Boom, Megasaurus and Rumplestumpskin.


Stages 4 and 5, July 30 and 31 – Crowsnest Pass


TR7 athletes will transfer from Fernie to Blairmore in the Crowsnest Pass the morning of July 30. For those signed up for the TR4, and taking advantage of the shuttle service, the shuttle will depart from Calgary International Airport at 8 a.m. as previously scheduled. Riders will be camping near the Albert Stella Memorial Arena. Any previously purchased camping passes will be valid.


1) Stage 4 (Stage 1 of the TR4) start time will be 12 p.m. on Main Street in Blairmore. This stage will travel 32km with 1,200 metres of elevation gain.


2) Stage 5 will also take place in Crowsnest Pass and cover 52km with an elevation gain of 1,800 metres.


Stage 6, August 1 – Kananaskis Country

The morning of August 1 riders will transfer 3.5 hours from Crowsnest Pass to Pine Grove A Group Camp in Kananaskis Country for a noon start. Stage six will travel 48km with 1,500 metres of elevation gain from Pine Grove to the finish and camp at Rafter Six Ranch and includes Cox Hill, Jumpingpound Ridge, Lusk Pass, and Stoney Trail.


Stage 7: Deadman’s Flats to Canmore

On the final day riders will transfer from Rafter Six to Deadman’s Flats (20 minutes), ride 37km with 1,000 metres of elevation gain along the Quebexican trail into Canmore, ride a loop at the Canmore Nordic Centre and head down to the finish line on Main Street in Canmore.