Opinion

File photo for editorials by Scott Tibballs (Scott Tibballs/The Free Press)

Column: The Free Press editor, Scott Tibballs on where the money went

Recently I was handed a piece of brightly-coloured plastic. Adorned with imagery…

Letter to the editor: Click bait journalism

The day after terrorists and nazis stormed the US capitol, I received…

  • Jan 15, 2021
Citizen science on a small Vancouver island Coho stream. (Public Fishery Alliance)

LETTER: Public Fishery Alliance clarifies stance on ways to restore B.C.’s salmon population

‘Fishing is enjoyable, but that’s not why the public fishery supports adipose fin clipping all chinook production’

  • Jan 14, 2021
Elkford mayor Dean McKerracher.

2020 Mayoral year in review – Dean McKerracher, Elkford

What a year this was! First and foremost, I want to share…

  • Jan 8, 2021
Elkford mayor Dean McKerracher.
Sparwood mayor David Wilks was in attendance at the street party to discuss potential changes to Centennial Square.

2020 Mayoral year in review – David Wilks, Sparwood

This year has been unlike any other before. While we all faced…

  • Jan 8, 2021
Sparwood mayor David Wilks was in attendance at the street party to discuss potential changes to Centennial Square.
Pattullo Bridge replacement is one of a group of major construction projects due to begin in B.C. with union-only labour. (Black Press Media)

LETTER: Compulsory trades training for B.C. apprentices makes sense

B.C. Building Trades women’s group endorses NDP’s move

  • Jan 7, 2021
Pattullo Bridge replacement is one of a group of major construction projects due to begin in B.C. with union-only labour. (Black Press Media)
video
Ottawa looking at tougher measures for travellers
Opposition leaders press for details on Payette's resignation
Tributes paid to broadcasting 'legend,' Larry King
Man spits on 7-Eleven manager over mask rule, sparking Vancouver police probe
(File Photo)

Column: Soranne Floarea on lessons about the mind-body connection

The Free Press Reporter discusses the effects of stress on the body and immune system

(File Photo)
Pixabay

Letter to the editor: On pancakes

Why is it so hard to find pancakes in Fernie?

  • Dec 30, 2020
Pixabay
MP for Kootenay-Columbia Rob Morrison looks back on 2020. (Submitted)

MP for Kootenay-Columbia looks back on 2020

Rob Morrison is a member of the Conservative Party

  • Dec 23, 2020
MP for Kootenay-Columbia Rob Morrison looks back on 2020. (Submitted)
A trail along Myra-Bellevue Provincial Park, southeast of Kelowna. Photo: Tourism BC

OPINION: Hoping for broader support and better days ahead for tourism sector

Now as we turn the page on 2020, there is room for optimism

  • Dec 22, 2020
A trail along Myra-Bellevue Provincial Park, southeast of Kelowna. Photo: Tourism BC
University Hospital of Northern B.C., in Prince George. (UBC photo)

‘I am tired, and my soul hurts’: B.C. nurse reflects on working in ICU unit during COVID

Renée Bush writes about what it is like on the front-line of the pandemic in the north

  • Dec 16, 2020
University Hospital of Northern B.C., in Prince George. (UBC photo)
Jock Finlayson, Executive Vice President and Chief Policy Officer of the Business Council of British Columbia (submitted)

FINLAYSON: The long economic tail of COVID-19

‘Fast forward to late 2020 and the situation has partially stabilized’

  • Dec 11, 2020
Jock Finlayson, Executive Vice President and Chief Policy Officer of the Business Council of British Columbia (submitted)
File photo for editorials by Scott Tibballs (Scott Tibballs/The Free Press)

Comment: Pondering party names

There appears to be confusion over the name of the BC Liberals, so maybe it’s time to clear that up

File photo for editorials by Scott Tibballs (Scott Tibballs/The Free Press)
BC Teachers' Federation President Teri Mooring is asking parents of school-aged children to encourage the wearing of masks when possible in schools. (THE CANADIAN PRESS/Chad Hipolito)

LETTER: Teachers union encourages culture of mask wearing in B.C. schools

BCTF President Teri Mooring asks parents to talk with children about wearing masks in school

  • Nov 24, 2020
BC Teachers' Federation President Teri Mooring is asking parents of school-aged children to encourage the wearing of masks when possible in schools. (THE CANADIAN PRESS/Chad Hipolito)
People take in the scenery at sunset on Kitsilano Beach in Vancouver, B.C. Thursday, March 19, 2020. The province of British Columbia and the provincial health minister are urging people to practice social distancing to help curb the spread of the coronavirus, and business leaders across the province are encouraging continued unity and commitment from all British Columbians. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward

LETTER: Together, for a brighter future for all British Columbians

‘Time and time again, British Columbians have shown resolve and strength in coming together’

  • Nov 18, 2020
People take in the scenery at sunset on Kitsilano Beach in Vancouver, B.C. Thursday, March 19, 2020. The province of British Columbia and the provincial health minister are urging people to practice social distancing to help curb the spread of the coronavirus, and business leaders across the province are encouraging continued unity and commitment from all British Columbians. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward
Provincial health officer Dr. Bonnie Henry views the Murals of Gratitude exhibition in Vancouver’s Gastown, July 5, 2020. (The Canadian Press)

GUEST COLUMN: COVID-19 masks mandatory in B.C., but not everywhere

Orders require them where necessary, Provincial Health Officer says

  • Nov 17, 2020
Provincial health officer Dr. Bonnie Henry views the Murals of Gratitude exhibition in Vancouver’s Gastown, July 5, 2020. (The Canadian Press)
Letters to the Editor. Black Press file photo.

Letter to the Editor: I live in Creston, and I have COVID-19

“I am still sick, and I don’t know where I contracted this virus, but I want to share my story so that you know that Coronavirus is here in our little community”

  • Nov 10, 2020
Letters to the Editor. Black Press file photo.
(Pixabay photo)

LETTER: Joint replacement wait times in B.C.

Arthritis society’s call for government to make reducing wait times a priority

(Pixabay photo)
FILE – A salmon pictured in this undated photo (Joel Krahn/Black Press File)

OPINION: Biggest threat facing wild Pacific salmon is Fisheries and Oceans Canada

‘Only Canada allows the farming of Atlantic salmon on the migration routes of wild Pacific salmon’

  • Nov 6, 2020
FILE – A salmon pictured in this undated photo (Joel Krahn/Black Press File)
Kootenay-Columbia MP Rob Morrison reflects on the meaning of Remembrance Day. Townsman file photo.

Honouring our veterans today and every day

Kootenay-Columbia MP Rob Morrison reflects on the meaning of Remembrance Day

  • Nov 2, 2020
Kootenay-Columbia MP Rob Morrison reflects on the meaning of Remembrance Day. Townsman file photo.