Opinion

FINLAYSON: A Labour Day snapshot of the B.C. job market

From following health advice and ‘doing no harm,’ to not hiking fees – one business expert has a number of suggestions

  • Sep 10, 2020

OPINION: Let’s celebrate working people — and work together for a fairer B.C.

‘This year has reminded us all of just how utterly and completely our province relies on working people’

  • Sep 6, 2020

How to help your child cope with the transition back to school during COVID-19

Experts say listening and validating your child’s fears is key

FINLAYSON: Next 6-12 months not the time for government to hike taxes

From following health advice and ‘doing no harm,’ to not hiking fees – one business expert has a number of suggestions

  • Aug 17, 2020

Reforming the PST can be a powerful tool to get people, businesses back to work long-term

Stronger tomorrow plan offers blueprint for job-rich recovery, says Jeff Zweig and Greg D’Avignon

  • Aug 5, 2020

LETTER: Time to rename British Columbia

One reader wants the province to create a more inclusive name for B.C.

  • Jul 20, 2020
video
B.C.'s top doctor says now is not the time for social gatherings
RCMP policy on masks for Sikhs will change, Blair promises
Alberta horse owners struggle with disease
Provincial health officer Dr. Bonnie Henry thanks supporters after threats

COLUMN: Some more appropriate names for Washington NFL team

Finally, Washington’s NFL team would have a name everyone could cheer with pride

Finlayson: B.C.’s economy devastated by pandemic – and the measures taken to contain it

‘Policy-makers should be acutely sensitive to the financial health of the overall business sector’

  • Jun 24, 2020

Police should not have access to data from coronavirus contact tracing apps

‘This is not the first time that public health, privacy and law enforcement have collided’

  • Jun 24, 2020

COLUMN: I sneezed, I coughed, so I got tested for COVID-19

Accessing a swab test is easy these days, but the actual test can more than a little daunting

COLUMN: B.C.’s labour minister should look at COVID-19 financial carnage amid minimum wage increase

The timing couldn’t be worse for any government decision that drives up costs for business, writes Jock Finlayson

  • May 28, 2020

COLUMN: Canada needs to remember rural communities as thoughts turn to pandemic recovery

Small towns often rely on tourism, which has been decimated by COVID-19

  • May 28, 2020

GUEST COLUMN: B.C. COVID-19 survey brings answers closer

275,000 responses so far, broader health information helps

  • May 22, 2020

LETTER: KSM mine underwent ‘comprehensive, transparent peer-reviewed environmental assessment’

Seabridge Gold’s KSM project did incorporate independent and peer-reviewed science

  • May 19, 2020

Our species to save: Use this time to learn more about Canada’s endangered animals

We share our country with about 80,000 known wild species, 800 of them are endangered

  • May 15, 2020

COLUMN: Residents should explore B.C. to help tourism industry amid COVID-19

Jock Finlayson is executive vice president and chief policy officer of the Business Council of BC

  • May 11, 2020

COLUMN: From flattening the COVID-19 curve to Team B.C. recovery

B.C. business leaders say they’re ready to restart economy

  • Apr 30, 2020

LETTER: London Drugs president supports local news

‘We are continuing our commitment to print our flyers and distribute them through community newspapers’

  • Apr 30, 2020

Earth Day: A new relationship to wildlife is needed for nature and people

Dan Kraus is senior conservation biologist with the Nature Conservancy of Canada.

  • Apr 22, 2020